Budapest

If sometime told me five months ago that I would be in Budapest November 16th I would have laughed…never in a million years did I imagine that I would go to Hungary, but I did and LOVED it. Well the city that is-not the people so much. I met up with Chris (friend studying abroad in Dublin) and Emily (his friend from Dublin as well). It was perfect timing seeing him because after a week of being sick all I wanted to do was be home so having a little familiarity this weekend definitely made everything better!

I went to Budapest without any expectations because I wasn’t really sure what to expect I guess. We did a hop on hop off tour and saw all of the main attractions Budapest has to offer: Hero’s Square, Szechenyi Bath (went at night and was definitely one of the coolest things I’ve ever done!!), New York Cafe (“most beautiful cafe in the world”), Gellert Hill (highest point in Budapest), Chain Bridge, Buda Castle, Fisherman’s Bastion, and Parliament. We also went ice skating near Hero’s  Square which was really cool and on a night cruise down the Dunube River–which separates Budapest into the two individual cities of Buda (western hilly side) and Pest (eastern flat side).

Overall it was a great trip! Ohhh Budapest also uses a different currency called Hungarian Forints (HUF) which are pretty interesting. About 220 HUF’s are 1 USD–so things got quite confusing. Who ever thought I’d be able to take 30,000 out of the bank and spend 19,000 on dinner!

Hanging out and shooting archery at Buda Castle

Leave a Reply

